Green Chili Meat

INGREDIENTS:

Pork roast, or 4 – 5 pork steaks
Diced onion
Diced Green Chili
Diced Garlic
Black pepper
Chili powder
Ground Cumin
Salt
Tortillas
Sour cream (optional)
Salsa (optional)

I take a frozen (usually because I forget to take it out the night before to let it thaw) chunk of pork, usually the roast, but if I don’t have roast, I use pork steak.

Place your pork in the crock pot, over that I put:

1/2 to 1 onion, diced. Now when it comes to the chili, you don’t have to be super picky. You can use 2 to 3 cans of the diced green chili that you get at the store. If I use that, and I can find it, I like to use the Hatch brand, it adds a little more heat. I just so happened to have bought some roasted Hatch green chili last year at the grocery store, so that’s what I use. I have also bought some anaheim chili when it is on sale, and roast it myself, and use that. So I take 3 to 4 chilies  cut the tops off, and dice it and put it in the crock pot. Then I add a heaping fork full of the diced garlic you can buy in the jar. To that I add a sprinkle of black pepper, a small sprinkling of chili powder, and a good sprinkling of ground cumin. Cook on high for about 5 or 6 hours, or low for about 8 or 9 hours (how long you cook it also depends on whether your meat was frozen or thawed), depending on how big your chunk of meat is.

When the meat is ‘fall apart’ done, take a fork and pull the bones out. Then you can take a couple forks and pull the pork, to shred it. Add a good sprinkling of salt, to taste, and stir it really good. Done, enjoy!

Serve wrapped in your favorite tortillas with sour cream, grated cheese, and salsa!

 

Leave a comment